erios3

FYE Final Drumbeat Proposal-Eli Rios III | April 12, 2011

Strategy

A)     Goal-  My goal is to create an interactie forum where Ultimate Frisbee players can have an outlet to improve their throwing skills.  Throwing a disc entails many different actions and can be wildly different, tailored to each persons playing style.

B)      What Exists? There are instructional videos retailing at the moment.  These videos are endorsed by professional and national team players.  These videos teach you the “proper” form for club level competition.  The only problem is that some people recreationally throw frisbee, and may want to have unorthadox throw in their arsenal.  I would also like to cultivate a community, something these videos do not desire.  I would like for other players to post videos of their ideas for both new throws and Ultimate plays that are useful for competition level play

C)      Audience- I am attempting to reach the whole spectrum of ultimate players, ranging from those newer to the sport to those who are more “senior”.  The difference in skill level will be evident in posts and questions generated.  I feel as though catering to the full spectrum of players will allow a topic to progress from a superficial level of understanding to something more substantial with a larger number of interested participants.

D)     Betters the internet? I feel as though most instructional websites look to create a top-form world class player.  In my experience with the sport there are many people who find recreational benefits without pushing themselves to the brink.  This coupled with user-generated content will allow for me to gain a more genralized perception of ALL playing Ultimate, as opposed to the elitist views and expectations of most others.  There are many methods of coaching a team and the subsequent strategies they are using.  I feel as though the use of the action of collecting these strategies will help some players find ways in which they can better their ultimate experience.

Story

A)     Ultimate Frisbee has embedded instincts from different sports.  You can use this prior experience to help enhance your awareness.  Doing so allows you to increase your arsenal of options on the pitch.  It is always good to have feedback in this process.  Community feedback not only strengthens the community but also the individual.

B)      One Page Overview

Ultimate Frisbee has enbedded instincts fron different sports

The use of cutting, throwing, and creating chances for success have alot in common with other sports.  Ultimate has elements of soccer in the movement of players on the pitch.  There are elements of football in the means by which players gain cutting space.  There are also elements of basketball. 

You can use this prior experience to help enhance your awareness

By illustrating the relative similarities within ultimate and other popular sports, we can create a better awareness of our actions.  By creating this relationship we can bring in array of players and foster their tactical awareness.

Doing so allows you to increase your arsenal of options on the pitch

This recognition of the lethality will allow players to create a more simplistic and relateable means for understanding and evolving the game of ultimate

It is always goo to have feedback

Feedback from more experienced players will allow us to perfect new ideas.  Feedback and questions from less experienced players allows us to teach, and in the process learn. 

Community feedback not only strengthens the community but also the individual.

With  an increasingly larger audience that is interactive, it is easy to see how an increasing amount of throws will be posted.  Helping make the “slow hunch” in respect to ultimate move fast.

Tools

Step #3 entails the tools in which one would use in order to make your idea much more dynamic.  The web page gives both an analogy of a superhero utility belt and a Swiss Army knife (impartial to the whole Swiss thing, they make better chocolate).  I do enjoy the way in which one could use a “superhero utility belt”, as it shows that although one can have a great idea(super powers) it must be supplemented with an array of tools to account for weaknesses within the hero (Batmobile? pretty sure Bruce Wayne isn’t the Flash, therefore he needs a super awesome concept car to get around with relative ease)

intriguing and aesthetically pleasing
equally intriguing and aesthetically pleasing

It also took me awhile to really think about some tools that would help enhance the idea, spirit, and vigor of my idea and how it would be perceived by my viewers and followers.  I spent spring break in Georgia for High Tide 2011, a really fun tournament in which i was able to network with some players.  I see this as an example for which I can gauge my audience and their relative needs.  I will be playing four more tournaments during the Spring and see this as a chance to really gain contact with my prospective market in earnest.

I also found networking to be a strong fabric that held together the Ultimate community.  While at various tournaments I have seen athletic-wear companies like Spin Ultimate, who have gained a modest following through appearing as a grassroots, localized company that has emerged from the Southern U.S. and into a larger framework.  As I researched and spent time on their website I realized that they had pushed Facebook as a means to carry over their popularity.  I can see this as a valuable tool as accessing a social networking site allows one to find a very specific audience with willing individuals among a sea of other interactions.

Chad Harris has annotated much of my first two steps and had relayed to me the idea of expanding my general idea while specifying my audience.  With the use of Facebook and networking I feel as though I will be able to gauge my proto-audience, as I really am undecided on where I would like to go with this project.  There will be some sort of forum, or a means of communication.  I’m just really indecisive on how much content I would like to be generated by my audience and how much of it will be filtered, and the relationship between the two and the culture of Ultimate Frisbee players.

People

Those involved with this attempt at creating a place to catergorize Ultimate offensive and defensive sets are a wide variety of people.  An abundance of Ultimate players are in the feild of engineering and/or studying the liberal arts.  These players have an advantage in  creating a logistical approach to catergorizing the different ideas. Graphic designers would be needed to streamline the whole process, as this is what they are awesome and well-versed in.

Prototype

So I found a presentation software called Prezi.  This platform is a means to create a more visually appealing presentation.  I found it had use in showing the spacial aspects of operations made during an Ultimate game

My Prezi


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment

About author

Hey, just a kid from Brooklyn. Frisbee is the name of the game.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds